VoicePoints names Atom Araullo Pinoy of the Year (2013)

Social Media Awards (formerly Pinoy of the Year) is an annual search of VoicePoints that features and profiles a person, group, idea or object that "for better or for worse, ...has done the most to influence the events of the year."

Last year, VoicePoints names Nora Aunor as its Filipino icon. She garnered 15,860 votes.

This year, VoicePoints names Atom Araullo as its Pinoy of the Year. Araullo garnered a total of 40,173 votes from the first voting phase (online ballot) and second voting phase (Facebook likes and Twitter favorites and retweets)

It's time to recognize Araullo for his contributions to the Philippine media.

The ABS-CBN correspondent braved the strong winds and rain to give a live report while typhoon "Yolanda" (Supertyphoon Haiyan) battered Tacloban City. The footage of Araullo showed a storm surge carrying piles of debris on the streets. CNN carried the same footage, describing Araullo as a "brave man."

The ABS-CBN News team, including Araullo, also helped in rescuing residents in Tacloban City.

Pilipinas Got Talent grand finalist El Gamma Penumbra got 20,732 votes. Miss Universe 2013 3rd Runner-up Ariella Arida earned 12,195 votes while Charice who earned another international distinction as the world's "youngest winning judge" got 11,122 votes. Bugoy Cariño gained 10,488 votes. Cariño received two awards for the movie "Alagwa", the Star Awards for Movies Child Performer of the Year Award and the Best Supporting Actor title in the 1st Asean International Film Festival and Awards in Malaysia, beating big names in the Asian region.

Philip Younghusband is the Social Media Icon of the Year 2013. Younghusband earned a total of 155,044 votes. With over 600,000 Twitter followers, the Fil-Brit Azkal player was ranked third on the FIFA-backed International Federation of Football History and Statistics (IFFHS).

Kim Chiu placed second with 127,921 votes. Mariel Padilla who has 1,372,718 Twitter followers got 54,715 votes. Active Instagrammer Luis Manzano received 15,644 votes while teen star Julie Anne San Jose gained 14,742 votes.

Chiu was chosen as the Most Beautiful Pinay with 435,433 votes. The first winner of Pinoy Big Brother: Teen Edition, Chiu is best known for her roles in the teleseryes Sana Maulit Muli, My Girl, Tayong Dalawa, Kung Tayo'y Magkakalayo, My Binondo Girl and Ina, Kapatid, Anak.

All-time favorite actress Dawn Zulueta received 182,184 votes. Arida earned 132,120 votes. Kapamilya star Karylle captured 66,646 votes while Kapuso actress Marian Rivera seized 56,606 votes.

De La Salle Green Archers Thomas Christopher Torres is the Hottest Pinoy of the Year. Torres received 341,535 votes. The 19-year old point guard had a respectable rookie year in 2012 with outputs of 4.1 points, 3.8 rebounds, and 1.7 assists. The former La Salle Greenhills cager led the Junior Blazers to a finals appearance in the 2010 NCAA wars.

Younghusband earned 167,048 votes. Araullo and actor Jericho Rosales got 86,131 and 70,105 votes respectively.

For Chito Miranda and Neri Naig, 2013 was a year of ups and downs. It was a year painted by scandal, their love story continues as VoicePoints named the couple Pinoy Pair of the Year. A number of 213,183 fans cast their votes for them.

A total of 148,850 KimXi fans cast their votes for Chiu and Xian Lim. Celebrity couple Jolina Magdangal and Mark Escueta ranked third with 92,890 votes.

Jerome Ponce and Kathryn Bernardo continue to shine as they received the Pinoy and Pinay Young Stars of the Year. Dubbed as the "Mario Maurer of the Philippines," Ponce got 44,300 votes. This generation's queen gained 50,252 votes.

This is a wedding present for Maya and Sir Chief! "Be Careful with My Heart" is the Pinoy Teleserye of the Year with 50,421 votes. It is an ABS-CBN daytime television drama premiered on July 9, 2012. It is topbilled by Jodi Sta. Maria and Richard Yap.

The celebration of the 60th year of Philippine Television does not end here. The first Philippine television station is the Pinoy TV Station of the Year with 70,541 votes. Yes, it's ABS-CBN. James Lindenberg, owner of BEC, was the first to apply for a license to the Philippine Congress to establish a television station in 1949. Judge Antonio Quirino, brother of former President Elpidio Quirino, also tried to apply for a license to Congress, but was denied. He later purchased stocks from BEC and subsequently gained the controlling stock to rename the company from BEC to Alto Broadcasting System (ABS). DZAQ-TV began commercial television operations on October 23, 1953; the first fully licensed commercial television station in the Philippines.

And the Pinoy Movie of the Year is Bakit Hindi Ka Crush Ng Crush Mo?. It is a film adaptation of Ramon Bautista's novel of the same title. The film is produced by ABS-CBN's film production company, Star Cinema. With 43,350 votes, it is the first movie team up of real life couple Chiu and Lim.

Parokya ni Edgar was hailed Original Pinoy Music Artist of the Year with 11,261 votes. The band was formed in 1993 by a group of college students. Naming themselves Comic Relief, the band originally consisted of three vocalists – Chito Miranda, Jeric Estaco, and Vinci Montaner, and two guitarists - Mikko Yap and Gab Chee Kee. They regularly played in after-school jam sessions, before performing an opening number for an Eraserheads concert. The same performance also marked the change of the band's name to Parokya ni Edgar.

Other winners are:

PINOY ADVERTISEMENT OF THE YEAR - McDonald's "Kuya" – 12,410 votes

PINOY DESTINATION OF THE YEAR - Banaue Rice Terraces – 2,100 votes

YOUTUBE OF THE YEAR - SM Olongapo Funny Elevator Girl - 1,761 votes

SELFIE OF THE YEAR - Justin Bieber's selfie – 44,900 votes

LSS OF THE YEAR - Please Be Careful With My Heart (Richard Yap & Jodi Sta. Maria) – 3,210 votes

MEME OF THE YEAR - Na-Janine Tugunon – 4,139 votes

FOODPORN OF THE YEAR - Impressive stack of leftovers by @marthastewart – 5,680 votes

The Social Media Awards and Pinoy of the Year gives high recognition to individuals who have made significant contributions to the Philippines and to the world. The award is administered by the VoicePoints team.

This blog bestows due recognition to their achievements.

These achievements are measured in terms of their vision, unusual insight, creativity and imagination, technical proficiency of the highest order in expressing world cultures and traditions specially the Filipino way of life, history, and aspirations.

Get regular updates straight from your Facebook and Twitter accounts with The Blog of Innocence: SilentVoice Points. Make sure that you keep informed about the latest happenings around you. Be a fan of VoicePoints page on Facebook. Join the online conversation of the people behind your history. Follow and get some tweet updates from @voicepoints on Twitter. Discuss and be a part of this changing world. We believe in your voice. We believe in you. Shout! Speak your mind! Join now! You have the right. You have the freedom!

Need advertising partners? Email us now silentvoicepoints@yahoo.com. Advertise with us!



Translate This Blog

Featured on

Featured on